June 7 is the last day to mail in your ballot for California’s primary election

June 7 is last day to mail in your ballot for California’s primary election

in Community

As they say, If you don’t vote, you can’t complain.

June 7 is the last day to mail in your ballot for California’s primary election. Voters can either turn in their ballot via mail (the county will count anything postmarked on or before June 7) or at a designated drop-off location.

There are 54 drop-off boxes located throughout San Mateo County. People can also vote in person at 45 vote center stations scattered about the Peninsula from June 4 to June 7.

Find the nearest voting location here.

It is going to be a busy election season.

People will select among statewide candidates for senator, governor, lieutenant governor, controller, secretary of state, insurance commissioner, and treasurer to proceed to the November election. Several will pick assembly members, state senators, county supervisors, and city council members at the local level. Not to forget, several school districts and cities will vote on ballot measures.

The notable elections in San Mateo County

Residents of the newly created Assembly District 21 -which encompasses a large part of the peninsula’s shoreline from South San Francisco to East Palo Alto –  will get a chance to pick their top two assembly candidates for the November election.

The candidates:

  • Tania Sloé – Business Person (GRN)
  • Giselle Hale – Mayor of Redwood City (Dem)
  • James Hsuchen Coleman – South San Francisco City Councilmember (Dem)
  • Dianne Papan – San Mateo Deputy Mayor (DEM)
  • Mark Gilham – Small Business Owner (REP)
  • Maurice Goodman – San Mateo County Community College Board Member (DEM)
  • Allison Madden – Attorney/Tenant Advocate

Voters in Supervisorial Districts 2 and 3 will select candidates to replace supervisors Carole Groom and Don Horsley, both of whom cannot run because of term limits.

The candidates in District 2, which includes San Mateo, Foster City, and most of Belmont:

  • Noela Corzo – San Mateo Foster City School District Trustee
  • Cameron Rolfe – California Licensed Investigator
  • Charles Stone – Belmont City Councilmember

The candidates in District 3, which includes the cities of Atherton, southeast Belmont, Half Moon Bay, Pacifica, Portola Valley, San Carlos, and Woodside:

  • Laura Parmer-Lohan – Businesswoman and San Carlos City Councilwoman
  • Virginia Chang-Kiraly – San Mateo County Harber District Commissioner
  • Ray Mueller – Menlo Park City Councilmember
  • Steven Booker – Workers’ Rights Advocate

Check out the complete list of candidates running in San Mateo County here.

Voters in the Belmont-Redwood Shores and the Brisbane School Districts will vote on new tax measures, while residents in Hillsborough City, Ravenswood City, Millbrae Elementary, and Jefferson Elementary school districts will vote on new bond measures.