Redwood City port director receives award from Bay Planning Coalition

Redwood City port director to receive award from Bay Planning Coalition

in Community and

The Port of Redwood City’s Executive Director Michael Giari has been announced this week as the winner of the 2018 Frank C. Boerger Award, which recognizes his efforts at combining environmental protection with economic progress.

Giari, who is retiring as executive director in May, is scheduled to receive the award from the Bay Planning Coalition (BPC) at the organization’s annual Spring Summit on May 11 at the Oakland Scottish Rite Center.

During his tenure at the port, Giari oversaw the tripling of tonnage crossing Port docks, the introduction of new businesses, the modernization of port facilities as well as improvements to waterfront recreation facilities and opportunities for the community, according to BPC.

Giari has also served for more than 15 years as a BPC board director and past president, where he helped advance the organization’s mission and vision, BPC said.

“With Mike’s vision, the Port has literally helped to build Silicon Valley from the ground up,” said John A. Coleman, BPC’s CEO.  “Much of our region’s economic success is because of Mike and his team at the Port of Redwood City.”

A Bay Area native, Giari started his port-related career with the U.S. Maritime Administration in San Francisco, and also worked for the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (1981-1988), as assistant manager of a major waterfront development project and as a marine transportation planner. He joined the Port of Redwood City in 1988 and became executive director 1995.

In a statement, Giari expressed gratitude for receiving the Frank C. Boerger Award, which is named after a founding member of BPC.

“BPC has been a contributor to the Port of Redwood City’s success through its strong advocacy of environmentally sound and reasonable dredging practices and regulations,” Giari said. “I hope that I have been able to contribute in small ways to the important work of BPC.”

Giari is the 17th recipient of the Frank C. Boerger Award. Past recipients include Alexis Strauss, Will Travis, Jack Broadbent, Monique Moyer, Congressman John Garamendi, and Sam Schuchat.

The BPC was founded in 1983 to represent the interests of public and private entities involved in commerce, industry, infrastructure, recreation and the national environment related to the San Francisco Bay and its watershed. More than 150 BPC members represent business and industry, government, professional service firms, and various associations. For more information, visit